The role of the department Chair expands many areas of focus including leadership, campus citizenship, human resource management, communications, budgeting, research, and beyond. The goal of the Chair is achievement of the highest possible level of excellence in the teaching, research, and service activities of the department. The Chair serves as a representative of the department both within the University of Maryland and outside of our organization - articulating collective departmental goals, actions, and requests while simultaneously maintaining an amicable work and educational environment. The Department of Geographical Science's is proud of our Chairs' efforts, past and present, in pursuit of these goals.

O.E. Baker  1942-1949
John Morrison  1949-1951
William Van Royen  1951-1967
Robert Harper  1967-1979
Keneth Corey  1980-1988
John Townshend 1988-1995
Sam Goward  1995-2001
John Townshend 2001-2009
Sam Goward (Interim)  2009
Chris Justice  2010-2021
Tatiana Loboda 2021- Present